Headlines - Viterra Championship


2016 Viterra Championship

For Immediate Release
February 4, 2016

The draw for the inaugural Viterra Championship, to be played at the Selkirk Recreation Complex February 10-14, 2016, was announced today by CurlManitoba Executive Director, Craig Baker, and by Viterra's Regional Manager, Kent Klimpke.

The top seed in the draw is the defending Manitoba Champion, Reid Carruthers and his West St. Paul team of Braden Moskowy, Derek Samagalski, and Colin Hodgson while the second seed is 2015 finalist Mike McEwen-Fort Rouge (BJ Neufeld, Matt Wozniak, Denni Neufeld). Carruthers earned his berth in the provincials by winning last year's championship while McEwen was the top ranked Manitoba team on the Canadian Team Ranking System (CTRS) at the end of last season.

The other two Manitoba teams which also play an [...] Read more

Four Earn MCT Viterra Berths

Twenty-five curling seasons after Vic Peters and his Manitoba champions won the inaugural Manitoba Curling Tour Men’s Championship, William Lyburn’s Granite team of Jason Gunnlaugson, Richard Daneault, and Braden Zawada won the 2015 MCT Championship presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries. The event was played December 11-13 in Dauphin.

Lyburn posted a 4-3 victory, with a final end last rock draw to the eight foot circle to defeat Alex Forrest-East St. Paul (Travis Bale, Ian MacMillan, Connor Njegovan).

Lyburn and his team won the championship’s $2,500 first prize. Team Forrest picked up $2,000 and the Viterra provincial championship berth which goes to the highest finishing eligible team. Lyburn and his team already had a provincial men’s berth in hand.

In the semi-finals, [...] Read more

Manitoba Open & Brandon Bonspiel Provide Final Four Viterra Qualifers

The 128th Manitoba Open Bonspiel provided the final three Viterra berth winners for 2016. In the bonspiel championship, the final of the Asham Event, 2002 Manitoba Champion and 2014 Bonspiel Champion Mark Lukowich-Granite played Scott Ramsay-Thistle. As Ramsay already had a Viterra Championship berth in hand, win or not - Lukowich had already earned an invitation to compete in Selkirk in February. Lukowich posted a 6-5 victory.

In the Free Press final Derek Oryniak-Granite, who was finalist in the Canola Junior Men's this year, played Troy Hamilton-Fort Rouge and in the Nott Autocorp final 1978 Manitoba Champion and MCA Bonspiel Grand Aggregate winner Doug Harrison-Granite played Dennis Bohn-Assiniboine Memorial.

Both Bohn and Harrison [...] Read more

A Youth Movement in Manitoba Curling

When the Manitoba 2016 Viterra Men’s championship takes place in Selkirk in February, the competing teams will include a dozen or more young players sharing the spotlight with Manitoba’s elite teams.

A team skipped by Hayden Forrester-Fort Rouge, the winner of last spring’s Manitoba U-18 Championships, had already qualified for the 2016 Canola Juniors in Rivers when they qualified through regional playoffs for the Viterra Championship, February 10-14.

The Forrester team includes Brett MacDonald and Cole Chandler, who were on the U-18 Champion team, along with Brennan Sampson.

The members of the Forrester squad have an average age of 19 years, younger than the Braden Calvert foursome which made a run to the men’s championship final four a year ago. They are [...] Read more

Regional Qualifying Identifies 17 More Teams for Selkirk

CurlManitoba hosted the Viterra Regional Qualifiers December 18-20, 2015 at various Curling Clubs across Manitoba. Seventeen berths were awarded to the 2016 Viterra Championship which will be held at the Selkirk Recreation Complex February 10-14, 2016.

Central………..Steve Pauls - Clearwater CC and his team (Clare Reimer, Kevin Friesen and Dylan Reimer); Lorne Hamblin - Morris CC and his team (Brian Peters, Jordan Peters and Graeme Bergman); AND Randy Neufeld - LaSalle CC and his team (Dean Moxham, Devon Wiebe and Brett Moxham)

Eastman………..Murray Woodward - St. Adolphe CC and his team (James Kirkness, Devin Mcarthur and Chad Barkman); AND Rylan Young - Springfield CC and his team (Scott Podolsky, Curtis Joyal and Phil Cook)

Interlake 1) Kyle Foster - [...] Read more

CurlManitoba Introduces New Men’s Championship Title Sponsor

CurlManitoba has announced that Viterra Inc. has signed a partnership agreement which will see the grain industry leader become the title sponsor of the Manitoba Men’s Curling Championship for the next 2 years.

Viterra becomes only the fourth title sponsor of the championship since 1925 when Hall of Fame legend Howard Wood Sr. won the first Manitoba men’s title in 1925. The first Viterra Championship will take place at the Selkirk Recreation Centre February 9-14, 2016.

Viterra joins Macdonald Tobacco (1925-1979 British Consols); Labatts (1980 – 1994 Labatt Tankard); and Safeway (1995-2006 Safeway Select, 2007-2015 Safeway Championship) as the only sponsors of the championship in 90 years. The company became a CurlManitoba partner in 2014 as [...] Read more


Reid Carruthers, Braeden Moskowy, Derek Samagalski, and Colin Hodgson, of the West St. Paul Curling Club will represent Manitoba at the Tim Hortons Brier in Calgary in late-February. The Carruthers team lost their second game of the championship and won out from that point, posting an 8-1 record, capped off by a 5-3 Safeway Championship final game victory over Mike McEwen. McEwen controlled the game early and when he forced Carruthers to take one facing three on the 4th end to tie the game at 1-1, it appeared that McEwen was finally on his way to the long dreamed of championship. But Team Carruthers made things difficult for McEwen on the sixth, forcing him to draw wide facing three and when he slid about 3 inches deep, Carruthers put a three on the board. McEwen scored one on [...] Read more

Right Sidebar Ad

Right Sidebar Ad Mobile